Band earns 26 All-Region, 13 All-Area honors

Band earns 26 All-Region, 13 All-Area honors
Posted on 12/14/2022
AISD Spear

Alvarado High School’s band had an impressive showing at All--Region auditions last week with 26 students earning All-Region honors and 13 earning All-Area honors.

Those earning All-Area honors advance to the final round of All-State auditions set for January.

“Our students were impressive at the All-Region auditions,” director Patrick Dietz said. “Every single student that had signed up to audition saw the process through and auditioned. Our students that made the band were impressive, in addition many of our students that missed making the band were close. I'm excited about where we are and what our potential is.”

Among other region schools, the AHS band earned the second most all-region selections, most first chair honors and most advancing as area qualifiers.

All-Area honors went to flute player Charlie Redding (1st Chair), clarinet players Kayla Sepeda, Flor Cuellar, and Karla Lopez, bass clarinet player Anna Walraven (1st Chair), tenor saxophone player Allison Garner (1st Chair), baritone saxophone player Dylan Hyatt (1st Chair), french horn players Victoria Vegas and Jack Dietz, trombone player Hector Velazquez, euphonium player Wyatt Linder, and tuba players Vanessa Lopez and Carlos Diaz.

All-Region honors went to Melanie Guzman (flute), Natalia Orduna (clarinet), Lilly Fritts (bass clarinet), Patrick Heneghan (alto saxophone), Marshall Sawyer (trumpet), Angelina Easterly (french horn), Abagail Garcia (french horn), Mya Brown (french horn), Troy Tackett (trombone), Emma Butler (trombone), Tobey Hayes (percussion).

The region consists of Alvarado, Benbrook (FW), Brock, Carter-Riverside (FW), Castleberry, Diamond Hill-Jarvis (FW), Dunbar (FW), Eastern Hills (FW), Glen Rose, Godley, Grandview, Keene, Kennedale, Lake Country Christian, Lake Worth, Maypearl, Midlothian Heritage, Millsap, Nolan Catholic, Peaster, Rio Vista, Springtown, Venus and Young Men’s Leadership Academy (FW).

2018 © All Rights Reserved | Website Design By: School Messenger | Login